ESBN Executive Council

The work of the ESBN is led by an Executive Council, under the following terms of reference:

  1. Oversee and provide direction to the work of ESBN in consultation with the ESCAP secretariat.
  2. Represent the business sector and provide business perspectives on development issues in the Asia-Pacific region at meetings of the legislative bodies of ESCAP, i.e. the Commission and its Committees, and other intergovernmental meetings upon request, including the annual Asia-Pacific Forum on Sustainable Development.
  3. Provide advice to the ESCAP secretariat on its programmes.
  4. Provide guidance, direction and overall support to the Asia-Pacific Business Forum (APBF).

The members of the ESBN Executive Council are:
President: Lee George Lam, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Banking and Finance; Non-Executive Chairman - Hong Kong and ASEAN Region & Chief Adviser to Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets Asia, Macquarie Infrastructure and Real Assets (Hong Kong) Limited, Hong Kong, China

Vice-president: David Morris, Chair, Asia-Pacific Business Forum 2019


  • Akash Bhavsar, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Innovation and Competitiveness; Managing Director, Skyquest Technology Group, India
  • Deborah Biber, Chief Executive, Pacific Basin Economic Council (PBEC)
  • Pedro Eloy, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Youth and Women Entrepreneurship; Chief Executive Officer, Pelham Grey; Hong Kong, China
  • Asif Ibrahim, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Disaster and Climate Risk Reduction; Vice Chairman, Newage Group of Industries, Bangladesh
  • Ju Song Lee, Executive Director, International Chamber of Commerce, Regional Office, Asia
  • Barbara Meynert, Senior Advisor, Fung Group, Hong Kong, China/Thailand
  • Narayana Murthy, Founder, Infosys Limited, India
  • Phang Yew Kiat, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Digital Economy; Vice Chair and CEO, Chong Sing Holdings Fin Tech, Hong Kong, China
  • Tariq M. Rangoonwala, Chairman, Rangoonwala Group of Companies, Pakistan
  • Carson Wen, Chair of ESBN Task Force on Green Business; Founder and Chairman, Bank of Asia, British Virgin Islands and BOA Financial Group, Hong Kong, China
  • Kosala Wickramanayake, President, International Business Council, Sri Lanka
  • Tan Sri Michael O.K. Yeoh, CEO & Director, Asian Strategy &Leadership Institute, Chairman World Chinese Economic Summit, Malaysia
  • Xiaochen Zhang, President Fintech4Good, China